Walter Scott, A Legend of Montrose

Nathan Uglow (Trinity All Saints, Leeds)
Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Report an Error

In 1819 Walter Scott published the third series of his

Tales of my Landlord

collection. This third series comprised

The Bride of Lammermoor

(in three volumes) and

A Legend of Montrose

(as a single volume). The unifying theme of these 'tales' was their apparent collation by one Jedediah Cleishbotham, a proud pedant, who had received them from the late Peter Pattieson, a lively schoolmaster with a natural sympathy for outcasts of all varieties. Over the years at the (fictional) Wallace Inn in Gandercleugh, guests had recounted these tales to the attentive Pattieson who had no ambitions to authorship, but left his notes to Jedediah Cleishbotham who did have such ambitions. An introductory chapter to each of the

Tales of My Landlord

explains the derivation of the relevant tale, thereby…

2081 words

Citation: Uglow, Nathan. "A Legend of Montrose". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 16 July 2002 [, accessed 21 June 2024.]

7169 A Legend of Montrose 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.