Manuel Puig was born in General Villegas near Buenos Aires in 1932. He studied architecture and philosophy at the University of Buenos Aires before learning film directing in Rome. After many travels and hardships in Europe and the Americas, he published his first novel

La traición de Rita Hayworth


Betrayed by Rita Hayworth

) in 1968 at the age of thirty-five. Fame came in 1976 with

El beso de la mujer arena


Kiss of the Spider Woman

), which gave rise to an award-winning film (1985) and a successful musical (1990). In between he had brought out

Boquitas pintadas

(1969) (

Heartbreak Tango

) and

The Buenos Aires Affair

(sic; 1973). There were four other novels before his premature death:

Pubis angelical


Maldición eterna a quien lea estas páginas

(1980) (

Eternal Curse on the Reader

2494 words

Citation: Shaw, Donald Leslie. "Manuel Puig". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 01 May 2009 [, accessed 19 April 2024.]

12619 Manuel Puig 1 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.