Mary Linskill (1583 words)

Download PDF Save to Bookshelf Share on Facebook Tweet Report an Error

Bram Stoker's Dracula (1897) certainly put Whitby and its Norman graveyard on the literary map, but in another cemetery in Whitby is a memorial to Mary Linskill, whose novels also made that coastal town in North Yorkshire well known to readers around the world. Linskill published thirteen volumes and eight smaller works that were widely read and continued to be published into the 1920s. Most of them are still valued especially because of their regional depiction of Whitby, but Linskill's worldview transcends the test of time and offers a wealth of wisdom for today's readers.

On 13 December 1840, Mary Jane came into this world, the first born of Thomas Henry and Mary Ann Tireman Linskill. Their home at that time was in …

We have have no profile for this entry. If you are a qualified scholar and you wish to write for The Literary Encyclopedia, please click here to contact us.

Ayres, Brenda. "Mary Linskill". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 28 June 2010
[, accessed 21 February 2018.]

Articles on Linskill's works

  1. The Haven Under the Hill

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here.