Marilyn Duckworth

Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Report an Error

In Marilyn Duckworth New Zealand has its finest writer of the absurd. In fourteen novels, a novella,


(1994), a poetry collection,

Other Lover’s Children

(1975), and a short story collection,

Explosions on the Sun

(1989), she captures the flavour of life’s strangeness, its unexpected turns and unpredictable outcomes. Her autobiography,

Camping on the Faultline

(2000), shows how the bizarre celebrated in her fiction is often grounded in her own experiences. The liminal territory that Duckworth charts between the ordinary and the odd in novels written over the last fifty years constitutes a fictional response to her own humdrum, domestic existence, her four marriages and four children. From her home in Wellington she has travelled widely in her imagination as well as in fact,…

1706 words

Citation: Wilson, Janet. "Marilyn Duckworth". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 11 May 2007 [, accessed 19 April 2024.]

1332 Marilyn Duckworth 1 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.