Julia Kavanagh

Amanda Collins (Independent Scholar - Australia)
Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Report an Error

A popular and respected nineteenth-century novelist, storywriter and biographer in her day, Julia Kavanagh produced fifteen novels, two books for children, four bio-historical works, a travel narrative and a number of short stories and poems over a forty-year career.

Julia Kavanagh was born on 7 January 1824 and two days later was baptised a Roman Catholic at Thurles in county Tipperary, Ireland. She was the only child of Morgan [Peter] Kavanagh (1800-1874) and Bridget Fitzpatrick (d. 1887). Morgan Kavanagh was the author of several poorly-received poetic and philological works, including The Wanderings of Lucan and Dinah: A Romance (1824); The Reign of Lockrin (1838) and Discovery of the Science of Language (1844). His lack of success and want of patronage in London saw him apply several

1586 words

Citation: Collins, Amanda. "Julia Kavanagh". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 28 October 2005 [https://www.litencyc.com/php/speople.php?rec=true&UID=2446, accessed 14 April 2024.]

2446 Julia Kavanagh 1 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.