Toni Morrison

(2251 words)

Few writers achieve the unusual distinction of receiving commercial success along with the most distinguished acclaim and awards available in arts and letters: Nobel Prize for Literature; Pulitzer Prize in Fiction; National Book Award (nomination); American Book Award; National Book Critics Circle Award and the American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters Award in the same year; appointment to the National Council on the Arts; election to the American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters; Condorcet Medal; member of the Schomburg Center Commission for the Preservation of Black Culture; National Book Foundation Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters; National Endowment for the Humanities’ Jefferson Lecturer; …

Please log in to consult the article in its entirety. If you are not a subscriber, please click here to read about membership. All our articles have been written recently by experts in their field, more than 95% of them university professors.

Jimoh, A Yemisi. "Toni Morrison". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 25 October 2002
[, accessed 08 July 2015.]

Articles on Morrison's works

  1. Beloved
  2. Jazz
  3. Love
  4. Paradise
  5. Playing in the Dark: Whiteness and the Literary Imagination
  6. Sula
  7. Tar Baby
  8. The Bluest Eye

Related Groups

  1. Postcolonial Literature - American
  2. African American Fiction
  3. Nobel Prize-winners