Sean O'Casey (2487 words)

Download PDF Save to Bookshelf Share on Facebook Tweet Report an Error

Sean O’Casey’s theatrical career spanned numerous decades, nations and dramatic styles, but he is largely remembered as a quintessentially Irish dramatist. His Dublin Trilogy, written between 1923 and 1926, forms the basis of this reputation, as the plays deal with conflicts in Ireland in the early 20th century. O’Casey, and his plays, are thus often assumed to represent his nation, which achieved independence from Britain in 1922 after a bitter struggle. O’Casey’s “Irishness” was made even more explicit because he frequently wrote for the Abbey Theatre in Dublin, a venue generally associated with drama which explored themes involving Ireland and Irish politics, and although his later work was considerably …

We have have no profile for this entry. If you are a qualified scholar and you wish to write for The Literary Encyclopedia, please click here to contact us.

Rees, Catherine. "Sean O'Casey". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 29 August 2005
[, accessed 18 January 2018.]

Articles on O'Casey's works

  1. Juno and the Paycock
  2. The Plough and the Stars
  3. The Shadow of a Gunman

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here.