(5120 words)
  • Alexander Femister Garvie (University of Glasgow)

Aeschylus is the oldest of the three Athenian tragedians, Aeschylus, Sophocles, and Euripides, whose works have survived. Born at Eleusis probably in 525 or 524 BC, he lived through the end of tyranny and the beginning of democracy in Athens in the last decade of the sixth century and through its full development in the first half of the fifth century. In the Persian Wars he himself fought (and a brother was killed) at Marathon in 490 BC and probably in the great naval battle at Salamis in 480 BC. He first presented tragedies in the annual competition at the City Festival of Dionysus in 499 BC, and won his first victory in 484 BC. He evidently composed between eighty and ninety plays, most of which survive only as fragments or titles. …

Please log in to consult the article in its entirety. If you are a member (student of staff) of a subscribing institution (see List), you should be able to access the LE on campus directly (without the need to log in), and off-campus either via the institutional log in we offer, or via your institution's remote access facilities, or by creating a personal user account with your institutional email address. If you are not a member of a subscribing institution, you will need to purchase a personal subscription. For more information on how to subscribe as an individual user, please see under Individual Subcriptions.

Garvie, Alexander Femister. "Aeschylus". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 20 October 2001; last revised 25 January 2010.
[, accessed 26 September 2016.]

Articles on Aeschylus' works

  1. Agamemnon
  2. Choephori [The Libation-Bearers]
  3. Oresteia
  4. Prometheus Bound
  5. Suppliant Maidens
  6. The Eumenides
  7. The Persians

Related Groups

  1. Revenge Tragedy