Gabriel García Márquez was born in Aracataca, Colombia, in 1927. The first of several children, he was brought up by his maternal grandparents in Aracataca and later studied in Zipaquirá in the Colombian highlands. His first stories began to appear in Colombian newspapers in the 1940s and 1950s. His first novella, La hojarasca [Leaf Storm], was published in 1955. This was followed in 1961 by El coronel no tiene quien le escriba [No One Writes to the Colonel], and then La mala hora [In Evil Hour] and Los funerales de la Mamá Grande [Big Mama's Funeral], both published in 1962. …

Please log in to consult the article in its entirety. If you are a member (student of staff) of a subscribing institution (see List), you should be able to access the LE on campus directly (without the need to log in), and off-campus either via the institutional log in we offer, or via your institution's remote access facilities, or by creating a personal user account with your institutional email address. If you are not a member of a subscribing institution, you will need to purchase a personal subscription. For more information on how to subscribe as an individual user, please see under Individual Subcriptions.

Corwin, Jay. "Gabriel García Márquez". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 26 March 2009
[, accessed 25 September 2016.]

Articles on García Márquez's works

  1. Cien años de soledad [One Hundred Years of Solitude]
  2. Del amor y otros demonios [Of Love and Other Demons]
  3. El amor en los tiempos del cólera [Love in the Time of Cholera]

Related Groups

  1. Magical Realism in Literature
  2. Nobel Prize-winners