Philip Pullman

Steve Barfield (University of Human Development, Suleymanyia, Iraqi Kurdistan); Katharine Cox; Chris Willis (London Metropolitan University); Revised By: Kris Swank (University of Glasgow)
Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Report an Error

Philip Nicholas Outram Pullman was born on 19 October 1946, in Norwich, England, the elder of two sons born to Alfred Outram Pullman, a fighter pilot in the Royal Air Force, and Audrey Evelyn Pullman (née Merrifield). Pullman, his mother and younger brother Francis followed Alfred to Rhodesia (now Zimbabwe) but moved back to England to live with Pullman’s grandparents and aunt in Norfolk. His grandfather was the rector of the local church at Drayton, and Pullman has credited his grandfather’s influence as a master storyteller, writing, “When I was young he was the sun at the centre of my life” (Pullman, “I Have a Feeling” 13). In 1953, Alfred Pullman was killed in a plane crash in Africa.

Philip Nicholas Outram Pullman was born on 19 October 1946, in Norwich, England,…

3112 words

Citation: Barfield, Steve, Katharine Cox, Chris Willis, Kris Swank. "Philip Pullman". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 21 March 2002; last revised 14 July 2021. [, accessed 22 April 2024.]

5064 Philip Pullman 1 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.