The Union Of Soviet Writers (1932-1991) (921 words)

Literary/ Cultural Context Essay


The Union of Soviet Writers (Soiuz Sovetskikh pisatelei) was established in April 1932. All other exisiting writers’ groups were thereupon banned (including the arch-loyalist Russian Association of Proletarian Writers, or “RAPP”). This step was brought in by a Communist Party Central Committee resolution for the “reconstruction of literary and artistic organisations”. Socialist Realism was promulgated as the one essential artistic method. Branches of the Union were established in all Soviet republics, provinces and main towns. Parallel unions in the other branches of artistic activity were set up soon afterwards.

The first president of the Soviet Writers’ Union was Maxim Gorky. …

Citation: Cornwell, Neil. "The Union Of Soviet Writers (1932-1991)". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 06 September 2005 [, accessed 06 July 2022.]

1583 The Union Of Soviet Writers (1932-1991) 2 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.