Nathaniel Hawthorne, Tanglewood Tales

Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Report an Error
Tanglewood Tales

(1853), Nathaniel Hawthorne’s sixth and final book for children, was written two years after

A Wonder Book for Girls and Boys

. The sequel to

A Wonder Book

, it continues retellings of Greek myths for children.

Tanglewood Tales

was written at a crucial point in Hawthorne’s literary career. It followed immediately after the success of three of Hawthorne’s major novels:

The Scarlet Letter


The House of the Seven Gables

(1851), and

The Blithedale Romance

(1852). It is also the last book that Hawthorne completed in the United States.

Tanglewood Tales consists of an introduction (“The Wayside”) and six tales. Unlike A Wonder Book, Tanglewood Tales has no introduction and conclusion to each tale, and no conclusion to the completed work. Though Eustace Bright,

3035 words

Citation: Laffrado, Laura. "Tanglewood Tales". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 24 August 2011; last revised 08 October 2018. [, accessed 16 July 2024.]

1700 Tanglewood Tales 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.