Sarah Waters: Affinity (2283 words)

Louisa Yates (University of Chester)
Download PDF Save to Bookshelf Tweet Report an Error


Other Resources

Related Groups

The second of Sarah Waters' trilogy of queer Victorian historical novels, Affinity is a claustrophobic five-part tale of deception, desire, imprisonment and spiritualism, set within the walls of Millbank prison. The narrative is set in two strands, denoted by different typefaces and set in different times, reflecting the two protagonists, the prisons' lady visitor, Margaret Prior, and spiritualist Selina Dawes. Part romance, part crime novel, part gothic horror, part 19th century social commentary, it won several awards in 2000, most notably the Somerset Maugham Award for Lesbian and Gay Fiction and the Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year Award. In keeping with its neo-Victorian status, the novel situates l…

Citation: Yates, Louisa. "Affinity". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 07 January 2008 [, accessed 26 October 2021.]

23071 Affinity 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here