Salman Rushdie, The Enchantress of Florence

Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Report an Error

The Enchantress of Florence (2008) is Salman Rushdie’s tenth novel and his eighth fictional work to be partly or wholly set – explicitly – in the Indian subcontinent. In this sense, it fits into what Martina Ghosh-Schellhorn describes as the “post-Midnight” (post-Midnight’s Children) portion of the Rushdie corpus, in which can be included Shame (1983); The Satanic Verses (1988); East, West (1994); The Moor’s Last Sigh (1995); The Ground Beneath Her Feet (1999); and Shalimar the Clown (2005). This grouping defines Rushdie’s creative engagement with national and cultural identity in the Indian subcontinent and, reflecting his sense of an “Indian talent for …

2098 words

Citation: Moore, Lindsey. "The Enchantress of Florence". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 20 August 2010 [, accessed 03 October 2023.]

23534 The Enchantress of Florence 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.