Alan Hollinghurst, The Line of Beauty

Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Report an Error
The Line of Beauty

is the English writer Alan Hollinghurst’s fourth and critically most successful novel. Published in the year in which the author turned fifty, it is arguably the most acclaimed work of fiction to have appeared in English in 2004: not only did it go on to win the Man Booker Prize for that year, it was also short-listed for the Whitbread Prize, the Commonwealth Writers Prize, British Book Awards Author of the Year and, in the US, the National Book Critics Circle Award. As a further emblem of its mainstream success it was adapted by Andrew Davies into a three-part television series for the BBC, broadcast in May 2006 and subsequently made available on DVD.

The novel divides into three parts of six chapters each which are nevertheless unequal in length. Explicit time

3478 words

Citation: Eeckhout, Bart. "The Line of Beauty". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 30 May 2008 [, accessed 30 May 2024.]

24665 The Line of Beauty 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.