James Welch, Fools Crow

Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Report an Error

Fools Crow is the third novel by James Welch. Originally published in 1986, Fools Crow follows his 1974 novel, Winter in the Blood. Along with N. Scott Momaday (House Made of Dawn, 1968), Welch is one of the first to bring Native writing into the mainstream of American literature.

Fools Crow is an epic rendering of the life of the Blackfeet people (Pikunis) living on the American plains in Montana. In Welch’s novel, readers gain insight into what traditional life was like for the Blackfeet before white settlers arrived to contest ownership of the land. Fools Crow makes a significant contribution toward understanding traditional, if not ancient, ways of Native peoples of the American plains. Setting his story in the late 1800’s, Welch also develops the growing tension that these people

2176 words

Citation: Hada, Ken. "Fools Crow". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 15 August 2018 [https://www.litencyc.com/php/sworks.php?rec=true&UID=24942, accessed 09 December 2023.]

24942 Fools Crow 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.