Henry James: The Madonna of the Future and Other Tales (1981 words)


The Madonna of the Future and Other Tales (1879) is a two-volume collection of six short stories written by Henry James. Volume 1: “The Madonna of the Future”, “Longstaff’s Marriage” and “Madame de Mauves”; Volume 2: “Eugene Pickering”, “The Diary of a Man of Fifty” and “Benvolio”. Each of these short stories (James preferred to call them “tales”) was originally published separately in journals between 1873 and 1879. James made several revisions to them before and after 1879, most famously between 1907 and 1908 for the New York Edition of his fiction. All tales referred to here are taken from Leon Edel’s twelve-volume The Complete Tales of Henry James (1962), which uses the original …

Citation: Eguchi, Tomoko. "The Madonna of the Future and Other Tales". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 12 April 2011 [https://www.litencyc.com/php/sworks.php?rec=true&UID=269, accessed 25 February 2021.]

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here