Andrey Kurkov, Geografiia odinochnogo vystrela [A Bullet's Itinerary]

Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Report an Error
Geografiia odinochnogo vystrela


A Bullet’s Itinerary

], an 800-page long trilogy first published in 2000, took Kurkov seven years to complete. It is set in 1928-1977 in Soviet Russia, or rather in an alternative absurdist version of it, which is ruled, for a large part of the book, by Mikhail Kalinin (who changes his name to Tverin, after the city of Tver’, which is exactly the opposite of what really happened), while Stalin is not even mentioned.

A Bullet’s Itinerary

is a brave attempt to merge the saint’s life genre with the epic novel. The book consists of three parts which cannot stand on their own. Once again with Kurkov, we are dealing with several slowly evolving parallel narratives. Narrative I is about an Angel who descends from Paradise to Earth trying to find out why no…

863 words

Citation: Rogatchevski, Andrei. "Geografiia odinochnogo vystrela". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 14 October 2010 [, accessed 22 June 2024.]

31910 Geografiia odinochnogo vystrela 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.