Mikhail Afanasevich Bulgakov, Rokovye iaitsa [The Fatal Eggs]

Roger Cockrell (University of Exeter)
Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Report an Error

In common with many of his Russian literary predecessors and contemporaries, one of the most striking points about Mikhail Bulgakov is the extent of his achievement within such a relatively short time – in his case from the early 1920s until his premature death in 1940. Within this period, he wrote two major novels, together with several short stories and a number of plays. Of equal significance, however, is the range and variety of his creative imagination, embracing semi-autobiographical memoirs, historical drama, magic realism, fantasy, political satire, and stories which may loosely be categorized as ‘science fiction’. Included under this last heading is his short story

Rokovye iaitsa


The Fatal Eggs


Written in 1924, but set four years into the future, The Fatal Eggs tells of

1063 words

Citation: Cockrell, Roger. "Rokovye iaitsa". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 25 October 2011 [https://www.litencyc.com/php/sworks.php?rec=true&UID=33151, accessed 22 June 2024.]

33151 Rokovye iaitsa 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.