Nathaniel Hawthorne: Grandfather's Chair

(2429 words)


Over the span of almost two decades, nineteenth-century United States author Nathaniel Hawthorne wrote and published a wide range of works intended for children. These included six books: Grandfather’s Chair (1840/1841), Famous Old People (1841), and Liberty Tree (1841), each of which focused on tensions between England and its Massachusetts colonies; Biographical Stories for Children (1842), which sketched the childhood of well-known historical figures; and A Wonder Book for Girls and Boys (1852) and Tanglewood Tales, For Girls and Boys; Being A Second Wonder Book (1853), the pioneering first published retellings of Greek myths in English for children. …

Please log in to consult the article in its entirety. If you are a member (student of staff) of a subscribing institution (see List), you should be able to access the LE on campus directly (without the need to log in), and off-campus either via the institutional log in we offer, or via your institution's remote access facilities, or by creating a personal user account with your institutional email address. If you are not a member of a subscribing institution, you will need to purchase a personal subscription. For more information on how to subscribe as an individual user, please see under Individual Subcriptions.

Laffrado, Laura. "Grandfather's Chair". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 24 August 2011
[, accessed 26 September 2016.]

Related Groups

  1. Children's Literature