Laura Del-Rivo, Where is My Mask of an Honest Man?

Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Report an Error
Where is My Mask of an Honest Man?

(2013), the first short story collection by Laura Del-Rivo (b. 1934), contains seven tales written over the past ten years. One of these, “J Krissman in the Park”, had previously appeared in the annual anthology

The Best of British Short Stories

(2013), edited by novelist Nicholas Royle (b. 1963).


, with 93 pages of main text, develops and extends the style and themes of Del-Rivo’s three published novels,

The Furnished Room


Daffodil on the Pavement/Animals

(1967), and, in particular,

Speedy and Queen Kong

(2004). The stories are packed with distinctive phrasing – Del-Rivo rarely writes a commonplace sentence – and focus on marginal figures in an interzone between a realistic London of market traders and greasy spoon cafes, mainly in…

3479 words

Citation: Tredell, Nicolas. "Where is My Mask of an Honest Man?". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 05 November 2013 [, accessed 21 June 2024.]

35065 Where is My Mask of an Honest Man? 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.