Graham Swift, England and Other Stories

Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Report an Error

Published in 2014,

England and Other Stories

is Graham Swift’s eleventh work of fiction but only his second short-fiction collection in a career which spans nearly four decades. As

England and Other Stories

demonstrates, Swift is a craftsman rooted in the tradition of English fiction. His works incorporate elements of modernist experimentation into realist narratives which explore themes related to loss and trauma, identity, history and the state of the nation. In this collection of stories Swift’s literary style, based on understatement, omission, and unobtrusive wit, asserts this author’s faith in the power of simple, almost unliterary language to communicate the essence of human experience. Swift’s achievement is noted in the glowing reviews

England and Other Stories


4694 words

Citation: Logotheti, Anastasia. "England and Other Stories". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 16 October 2015 [, accessed 18 July 2024.]

35509 England and Other Stories 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.