Oscar Wilde, Lord Arthur Savile's Crime and Other Stories

Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Report an Error

The four stories which make up

Lord Arthur Savile’s Crime and Other Stories

, published in London by the firm of Osgood, McIlvaine and Co. in 1891, had all previously appeared in periodical form in 1887: “Lord Arthur Savile’s Crime” and “The Canterville Ghost”, were first published in

The Court and Society Review

, while “The Sphinx without a Secret” (under its original title of “Lady Alroy”) and “The Model Millionaire” first appeared in

The World

. Both periodicals were addressed to educated, urbane readers and Wilde’s stories were written to engage that same audience. Accordingly, they are set in fashionable circles and concern themselves, at least superficially, with the trivialities and vagaries of life amongst the privileged classes. While they can be read as…

2049 words

Citation: Markey, Anne. "Lord Arthur Savile's Crime and Other Stories". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 03 July 2008 [https://www.litencyc.com/php/sworks.php?rec=true&UID=3872, accessed 23 June 2024.]

3872 Lord Arthur Savile's Crime and Other Stories 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.