Aurelius Prudentius, Peristephanon [Crowns of Martyrdom]

Thomas Tsartsidis (National and Kapodistrian University of Athens)
Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Report an Error

Peristephanon is a collection of 14 poems of various lengths and metres on mainly Roman and Spanish martyrs, written by the Latin Christian poet Aurelius Prudentius Clemens (348-after 404/5 AD). More specifically, the poems and the martyrs or subjects they are referring to are as follows: Perist. 1 – Emeterius and Chelidonius; Perist. 2 – Lawrence; Perist. 3 – Eulalia; Perist. 4 – 18 martyrs of Zaragoza; Perist. 5 – Vincent; Perist. 6 – Fructuosus, Augurius and Eulogius; Perist. 7 – Quirinus; Perist. 8 – a baptistery in Calahorra; Perist. 9 – Cassian; Perist. 10 – Romanus; Perist. 11 – Hippolytus; Perist. 12 – apostles Peter and Paul; Perist. 13 – Cyprian; Perist. 14 – Agnes.

Most of the poems of the Peristephanon have a tripartite structure, consisting of an

3339 words

Citation: Tsartsidis, Thomas. "Peristephanon". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 29 May 2019 [, accessed 09 December 2023.]

38881 Peristephanon 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.