Margaret Oliphant, Women Novelists of Queen Victoria's Reign: A Book of Appreciations

Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Report an Error
Women Novelists of Queen Victoria’s Reign: A Book of Appreciations

is a collective work by nine female novelists – Margaret Oliphant, Eliza Lynn Linton, Mrs. Alexander, Katherine S. Macquoid, Louisa Parr, Emma Marshall, Charlotte M. Yonge, Adeline Sergeant, and Edna Lyall – who write chapters on their fellow novelists. The volume, published as a contribution to the celebration for the Queen’s Jubilee in 1897, aims to give an account of women’s achievement in fiction during Queen Victoria’s reign. 

A look at the table of contents reveals the familiar names of the Brontës, George Eliot, and Elizabeth Gaskell (among the subjects), Oliphant,  Linton, and Yonge (among the authors), but most of the other names are obscure to today’s reader. The publishers’ note that prefaces

2766 words

Citation: Colomba, Caterina. "Women Novelists of Queen Victoria's Reign: A Book of Appreciations". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 25 March 2024 [, accessed 21 June 2024.]

39078 Women Novelists of Queen Victoria's Reign: A Book of Appreciations 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.