William Faulkner, Snopes: A Trilogy

Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Tweet Report an Error

Snopes: A Trilogy was published by Faulkner’s publisher, Random House, in 1964, and consisted of his three Snopes novels, The Hamlet (1940), The Town (1957), and The Mansion (1959). Although the writing and publication of the novels took place over an extended period of time, it was always Faulkner’s desire to have the three novels published as a unified whole, despite numerous inconsistencies in detail, plot, and characterization. Prior to the publication of The Mansion, working with his editors at Random House, he made a considerable effort to minimize those inconsistencies, and then in 1961, two years after The Mansion appeared, he met again with them to reconcile as …

976 words

Citation: Meats, Stephen E.. "Snopes: A Trilogy". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 29 April 2023 [https://www.litencyc.com/php/sworks.php?rec=true&UID=41221, accessed 01 June 2023.]

41221 Snopes: A Trilogy 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.