Oscar Wilde, Intentions

Katherine O'Keefe (University College Dublin)
Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Report an Error

, first published in 1891 as a decorated book designed by Charles Ricketts, collects, in often substantially revised form, several of Oscar Wilde’s previously published critical writings regarding art and its place in society: “The Decay of Lying” (1889), “Pen Pencil and Poison” (1889), “The Critic as Artist” (1891), and “The Truth of Masks”. These individual works display the development of Wilde’s personal theories of art and aesthetics in conversation with the prevalent trends in art and aesthetics of the late-Victorian era. The title


suggests a dialogue with Walter Pater’s


, which Lawrence Danson calls a “starting point” for Wilde’s volume (13). In collection, the works reveal preoccupations with the overall purpose of art…

2775 words

Citation: O'Keefe, Katherine. "Intentions". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 11 February 2011 [https://www.litencyc.com/php/sworks.php?rec=true&UID=4378, accessed 16 July 2024.]

4378 Intentions 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.