Publius Papinius Statius

Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Report an Error

Publius Papinius Statius (c. 45-96 CE) was the foremost Latin poet of the Flavian era (69-96 CE) of ancient Rome. His extant works include the Silvae, a collection of five books of occasional poems; the Thebaid, an epic in twelve books on the war at Thebes; and the Achilleid, an unfinished epic on the life of Achilles. The Thebaid is one of only two completed Latin epics (Ovid’s Metamorphoses is the other) to survive from the early Roman empire. Works by Statius no longer extant include the pantomime libretto Agave, composed for the actor Paris, known to us from a comment in Juvenal Satires 7.87. As far as can be judged from a surviving four-line fragment, an epic D…

2888 words

Citation: Bernstein, Neil. "Publius Papinius Statius". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 05 February 2013; last revised 29 June 2020. [, accessed 21 September 2023.]

4196 Publius Papinius Statius 1 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.