Andreï Makine, Le testament français [The French Testament/ Dreams of My Russian Summers]

Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Report an Error

Andreï Makine’s novel

Le testament français

(1995) is the first part of what has been called his “Franco-Russian trilogy” (Nazarova 82). The trilogy also includes the novels

Requiem pour l’Est

(2000) and

La terre et le ciel de Jacques Dorme

(2003). The English translations of the three novels are entitled

Dreams of My Russian Summers


Requiem for the East/Requiem for a Lost Empire

(2001) and

The Earth and Sky of Jacques Dorme


Le testament français consists of four parts. The first three are set in the Soviet Union during the 1960s and 1970s, while the fourth part continues in France twenty years later. The themes of history, memory and narrative are central to the novel, as well as to the trilogy as a whole.

Le testament français

consists of four parts. The first…

2698 words

Citation: Hansen, Julie. "Le testament français". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 22 March 2011 [, accessed 22 June 2024.]

32149 Le testament français 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.